British Society for the History of Philosophy

Annual General Meeting

Friday 7 April, 2017

6:00-7:00, University of Sheffield, Diamond Workroom 1

MINUTES

Attendance: Stephen Clark (Chair), Beth Lord (Secretary), Jeremy Dunham (Treasurer), Cristina Chimisso, Mike Beaney, Mogens Laerke, Maria Rosa Antognazza, Ruth Boeker, Stephen Read, Dina Emundts, Hans Fink, Robert Stern, Luc Foisneau, Liba Kaucky, Jana Kaucky, Anastasios Brenner, Jessica Leech, Sacha Golob, Andrew Stephenson, Sophia Connell, Michael Walschots, Andrew Cooper, Maarten Steenhagen, Katherina Kinzel, Christopher Thomas, Johannes Steizinger, Niels Wildschut, Sarah Hutton, Francesca Rebasti

- 1. **Apologies for Absence**: Pauline Phemister, Marina Frasca-Spada, Peter Millican, Susan James, Mark Sinclair
- 2. Minutes of the previous AGM: Approved
- 3. Matters arising: none
- 4. Officers' Reports:
 - a. **Chair**: The outgoing Chair, Stephen Clark, expressed his gratitude to Beth Lord (outgoing Secretary), Jeremy Dunham (Treasurer), and Mike Beaney (Journal Editor).
 - b. **Treasurer**: The Treasurer's report was presented (see attached). It was noted that BSHP finances are very healthy, and that the Management Committee is open to considering new initiatives for using funds.

Mike Beaney clarified that Taylor & Francis pays a fixed amount to the Society plus royalties annually.

Robert Stern asked whether the Society is required to hold a reserve and enquired how the money can be spent. The Society had agreed in 2004 to keep a reserve of £15,000. Maria Rosa Antognazza explained that the MC will invite members to suggest initiatives for using funds.

- c. Secretary: Beth Lord, outgoing Secretary, explained that the email listserv <u>BSHP@JISCMAIL.AC.UK</u> has now been set up and all BSHP members have been added as subscribers. BL will continue to act as List-owner. Any subscriber may post to the list, and members are encouraged to use the list to announce conferences, publications, and other relevant events. It was noted that the list is to be used for announcements, not for discussions. BL moderates all posts.
- d. **Journal Editor**: Mike Beaney directed members to the editorial of BJHB 25.1 for his report.

There was a question about whether the gender of submitting authors was tracked. MB said that it is not formally recorded, but that an informal count indicated approximately 16-18% of submissions (and a slightly lower percentage of publications) are from women. MB will look into formally recording gender with the publishers. (Action: MB)

There was a question about whether the criteria for special issues is publically available. MB said that he would consider putting something on the website. (Action: MB)

5. BJHP Editorial Board and Associate Editors:

Sacha Golob was appointed as new Associate Editor for post-Kantian continental philosophy. Cheryl Misak and Emily Thomas were added to the Editorial Board, and James Harris agreed to serve a second five-year term. Dina Emundts, Cecilia Lim, and Pauliina Remes were added to the Advisory Board.

All these posts were confirmed by the AGM.

6. Management Committee Officers and Vacancies

The BSHP MC has 12 members, elected from the general membership on a rotating basis, each for a 4-year term (renewable without limit); officers are elected for a 3-year term, renewable once; In addition, 2 members may be co-opted for specific purposes; In addition, the MC may elect one or more Foreign Corresponding Members.

It was noted that were vacancies for the positions of Chair and Secretary, and one vacancy on the Management Committee with the expiry of SC's membership. The following nominations were considered by the AGM:

Chair: Maria Rosa Antognazza, nominated by Cristina Chimisso and seconded by Beth Lord. **The AGM appointed Maria Rosa Antognazza to the position of Chair** for three years.

Secretary: Mogens Laerke, nominated by Jeremy Dunham and seconded by Mike Beaney. **The AGM appointed Mogens Laerke to the position of Secretary** for three years.

MC Vanacy: Sophia Connell, nominated by Maria Rosa Antognazza and seconded by Mike Beaney. **The AGM appointed Sophia Connell to the Management Committee** for four years.

The BSHP Management Committee was therefore confirmed as follows:

Maria Rosa Antognazza: Chair 2017-20 (as MC member: 2016-20) Mogens Laerke: Secretary 2017-20 (as MC Foreign Corresponding member: 2015-19) Jeremy Dunham: Treasurer 2015-18 Beth Lord: 2014-18 Cristina Chimisso: 2012-20 James Clarke 2015-19 Alix Cohen 2012-20 Marina Frasca-Spada 2012-20 Peter Millican 2015-19 Pauline Phemister 2012-20 Mark Sinclair 2014-18 Susan James: 2016-20 Sophia Connell: 2017-21 Co-opted member: Mike Beaney, Journal Editor

It was noted that there is space on the MC for a second co-opted member (normally the conference organizer), but that none is required at present.

7. Announcement of Prizes and Conference Awards

The Graduate Essay Prize was awarded to Stephen Howard of Kingston University, London, for his essay 'The transition within the transition: the *Übergang* from the ether proofs to the *Selbstsetzungslehre* in Kant's *Opus postumum*'. The runner-up was Wim Vanrie of St. Anne's College, Oxford, for his essay 'The Bounds of Tolerance: Early Quine on Carnap and the *a priori*'. It was announced that the Graduate Essay Prize will now be run annually.

The Rogers Prize for 2016 goes to Olaf Mueller of the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin for his article 'Prismatic Equivalence – A New Case of Underdetermination: Goethe vs. Newton on the Prism Experiments', published in BJHP 24.2. There were two runners-up: Justin Steinberg, of Brooklyn College, City University of New York, for his article 'Affect, Desire, and Judgment in Spinoza's Account of Motivation', published in BJHP 24.1, and Thomas

McNally, of Trinity College Dublin, for his article 'More Than a Feeling: Wittgenstein and William James on Love and Other Emotions', published in BJHP 24.4.

There were no new conference funding awards to announce. The MC has agreed to increase available funds for conferences to a limit of £2000 for major awards, and £1000 for minor awards. Members were reminded that access to these funds is a benefit of membership, and were encouraged to apply.

8. **Plans for future BSHP conferences**: Jeremy Dunham proposed a themed conference on Habit to take place at Durham in 2018.

Cristina Chimisso reminded the AGM that the Society holds and funds a large, general conference alternately with a more specific themed conference. The MC welcomes suggestions and volunteers to hold the next general conference in 2019 and future themed conferences. Proposals for joint conferences with other societies are also welcome, as are proposals for conferences outside the UK.

9. AOB

Stephen Clark noted the threat to Central European University in Hungary, and offered to write a letter to the Hungarian government stating the Society's support for CEU.

Maria Rosa Antognazza noted that the Society wishes to make more and better use of the web. As new Chair, she will send an email asking for proposals for new initiatives to use Society funds (open until the end of May). She thanked Stephen Clark for his work as Chair, Beth Lord for her work as Secretary, and Mike Beaney for his work as Journal Editor. Jeremy Dunham and Mogens Laerke were thanked for their work organizing the 2017 conference.