## **BRITISH SOCIETY FOR THE HISTORY OF PHILOSOPHY**

#### Annual General Meeting 2023

University of Aberdeen Sir Duncan Rice Library, Floor 7 Meeting Room 1 14 April, 2023, 5 :30pm-6 :00pm

# Agenda

# 1. Minutes of the previous AGM

Minutes have been distributed by mail to the membership prior to the AGM. Approved.

# 2. Officers' Reports

2.1. Chair. Michael Beaney, standing in for Maria Rosa Antognazza, speaks to the shocking and tragic loss of the society chair from sudden illness only weeks ago. The society acknowledges the great importance she has had for the BSHP over the years both as a former secretary and in particular as two-term chair, still in place at time of her death. Members are encouraged to contribute to the page *in memoriam* set up on the BSHP Website. Beaney also regrets the departure in 2022 of G. A. J. Rogers, founding member of the BSHP and founder and long-time single editor of the BJHP.

2.2. Treasurer. Mogens Lærke speaks on behalf of the society treasurer, Katharine O'Reilly. This year the total income was £28,092. We received £20,063 in royalties (£19973 from T+F and £89.61 OUP), and £8,029 in subscriptions. This year our total expenditure was £42,937.06. This is up from the 2022-23 expenditure of £33,913. The increases are mostly due to one-off support of the BPA EDI project, an increase in grants to conferences (including some granted in previous years but reimbursed this year), the payment of two sets of prizes in this tax year (which will net off in the next), and additional T+F journal subscriptions costs. The net position is £94,414 of accessible funds.

2.3. Secretary. Mogens Lærke has nothing special to report which is not reported under other points of the agenda.

#### 3. BJHP Journal Editors' report

Key Statistics. The rolling 12-month average review time from receipt to decision is 46 days, an excellent rate in comparison with many others. The acceptance rate for research articles is just above 7%, in line with long term trends. Year-to-date we have received 72 research article submissions, again in line with trend. The *Journal* continues to play a central role in broadening the canon. Existing Editorial and International members eligible for a second term have been approached to renew as in the past: full lists circulated at the BJHP Executive Comm. Profs. McCabe and Gardner have completed their second term on the Editorial Board. The Editors are extremely grateful for their service. The Editors are consulting with the Board to identify suitable replacements: the Editors would be happy to receive any suggestions.

# 4. BSHP-NTHP Managing Editor's report

Two volumes have been published, a third is in production. The manuscripts for several volumes are set to be submitted to OUP within the end of the year. For additional forthcoming volumes, the list can now be found on the BSHP website. Four additional proposals have been approved by the BSHP-NTHP editors and are currently under consideration at OUP. ML and MB suggest that the NTHP editorial committee be expanded, to ensure that the committee as a whole has the specialisations and network required to attract and seek out suitable contributors to the series. Karyn Lai (UNSW) and Peter Adamson (KCL) have accepted to take on this task. Their nomination is approved by the AGM.

#### 5. Prize Winners

The winners of the three Journal BSHP Prizes were as follows.

ROGERS PRIZE – Best Article in 2022. Winner: Michael Kremer (Chicago) for "Margaret MacDonald and Gilbert Ryle: a philosophical friendship."

BEANEY PRIZE - Best Contribution to Widening the Canon in 2022. Winner: Lea\_Cantor (Oxford) for "Thales – the 'first philosopher'? A troubled chapter in the historiography of philosophy".

GRADUATE ESSAY PRIZE 2022. Winner: Claudia Dumitru (Princeton) for "Hobbes on Children and Parental Dominion."

The BSHP congratulates the winners on their achievement.

#### 6. Update on BSHP conferences and events

The annual lecture, in place since 2019, will change name from "The BSHP Annual Lecture" to "The Antognazza Lecture." The first Antognazza Lecture will take place at King's College London and will feature a lecture by Professor Peter Adamson, focusing on the work by Maria Rosa Antognazza on knowledge and belief.

No current plans exist for the upcoming 2024 un-themed conference. The membership is invited to come forward if they would like to take on the task. They are reminded that substantial funding for the event is available.

## 7. Results of MC elections

James Clarke ends his two terms on the MC. Robert Stern has chosen for personal reason not to stand for a second term. Mogens Lærke ends his two terms as elected member of the MC but continues on the MC as co-opted in his capacity of managing editor of the BSHP-NTHP series. Online elections for three vacant seats were organised by CP. The full BSHP membership was invited several times via the BSHP jiscmail list to both nominate candidates and vote for up to three among them.

The new elected members are: Jeremy Dunham (Durham University), John Callanan (King's College London), Zita Toth (King's College London). Their nominations are ratified by the attendants at the AGM. The BSHP welcomes them to the MC.

Mogens Lærke stands down as society secretary. Beth Lord, former member of the MC and BSHP secretary thanks Mogens Lærke for his work over the years in the society. Jeremy Dunham has put himself forward as candidate for secretary. His nomination is ratified by the AGM attendants.

Susan James has kindly accepted to function as interim chair for a year after the loss of Maria Rosa Antognazza. The society thanks her for her willingness to take on this task and expresses the hope that she may stand for the role as elected chair in a co-opted capacity in 2024. But decisions regarding the chairmanship will be taken at a later date. The attendants at the AGM ratifies her nomination.

# <u>8. AOB</u>

N/A The meeting ends at 6:00pm